Please Wait a Moment
X

Become an ATTORNEY Ohio Notary Public

As an attorney, the process to become a notary is slightly different. Once your application is approved, you will receive a lifetime commission. Just follow these 4 easy steps.

Not an attorney? Learn about the new notary application process.
 

STEP 1: Take the notary class

Note: This class is eligible for 2.25 hours of CLE credit!

You must complete a 3-hour new notary education class. Attorneys are not required to take an exam or complete a BCI background check. The required class is available online. The fee for the class is $75 paid at the time of class registration. Credit or debit card only.

Register for the Attorney Notary Class

 

STEP 2: Complete the Ohio Secretary of State's application

Complete and submit a New Notary Application electronically to the Secretary of State’s office. That application must include your name, attorney registration number, residential or business address, signature and evidence that you have successfully completed a 3-hour education course through an authorized education provider. A $15 application fee must be paid directly to the Secretary of State with a credit or debit card when the application is submitted.

 

STEP 3: Receive your commission in the mail

The Secretary of State will process your completed application and, if approved, it will issue your commission directly to you. Your commission will be issued for your lifetime, assuming no discipline or disqualifying offenses have been committed. Your commission information will be posted on a public searchable database on the Secretary of State's website.

STEP 4: Order your notary stamp and supplies

The Columbus Bar Association has all the notary supplies you need, from stamps and embossers to nameplates and ink. Click here to order your notary supplies.

 Contact Us

If you would like to speak with our Notary Administrator, you may email notary@cbalaw.org, or call our office Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:30am and 5:00pm at (614) 340-2031.

EMAIL US

You must be 18 years of age or over and an Ohio resident (or a nonresident attorney with a license to practice law in Ohio and a principal office in Ohio).