May 19, 2014

Officers and Board of Governors Elected for 2014-15

The Columbus Bar membership elected two new members to join the 2014-15 Board of Governors. Elected to first-time terms are Mark C. Collins, Mark C. Collins, Co. and Ashley L. Oliker, Frost Brown Todd. Amy B. Koorn, staff attorney to Hon. Richard S. Sheward, was appointed to the board in 2013 to serve out the remaining term of Jay E. Michael after he was elected Secretary-Treasurer. Koorn will now serve her first elected term. In addition, James D. Abrams, Taft Stettinius & Hollister; Stephanie R. Hanna, Carlile Patchen & Murphy; and LeeAnn M. Massucci, Massucci & Kline, were re-elected to second terms.


The Secretary-Treasurer position was won by Brigid E. Heid, Carlile Patchen & Murphy. Heid will join Keith W. Schneider, Maguire & Schneider, who will be sworn in as President, culminating his six years of service on the board – four as a board member and the last two as a Columbus Bar officer – and Jay E. Michael, Law Offices of Jay E. Michael, who will be installed as President-Elect.


All newly-elected members will be sworn in at the Annual Meeting on Thursday, June 12, at the Sheraton Capitol Square. They will join sitting board members Sandra R. McIntosh, Freund Freeze & Arnold; Samuel A. Peppers, III, Dinsmore & Shohl; Lisa Pierce Reisz, Vorys Sater Seymour and Pease; and Richard C. Simpson, Dean of Capital University Law School.


Current president Magistrate Mark C. Petrucci, Franklin County Common Pleas Court, will serve as Past President. Jennifer A. Adair, Deputy Attorney General, Ohio AG, will retire from the Board after serving the maximum two terms of office.


Heid’s election as Secretary-Treasurer leaves an opening on the board, with one year left on her two-year term. In accordance with the Code of Regulations, the new board will appoint a replacement to complete Heid’s term immediately following the Annual Meeting.



The newly installed 2014-2015 Board of Governors met immediately following the Annual Meeting to vote on filling a one-year Board vacancy created when Brigid Heid was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

Kerry T. Boyle of Wiles Isaac Burkholder & Teetor will join President Keith W. Schneider, President-Elect Jay Michael, Secretary/Treasurer Brigid E. Heid, Past President Mark C. Petrucci and Board members James D. Abrams, Mark C. Collins, Stephanie R. Hanna, LeeAnn M. Massucci, Sandra R. McIntosh, Ashley L. Oliker, Samuel A. Peppers, III, Lisa Pierce Reisz, and Richard C. Simpson.