May 19, 2014

Foundation Hosts Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon

Columbus Bar Foundation and Bar Association Pro Bono Awards were presented on May 9 by Foundation President Robert Meyer to Barry Kiser for Outstanding Pro Bono Service by a Paralegal; to Sherrille Akin and Colonel Duncan Aukland for Outstanding Pro Bono Service by an Individual; to Ellen Queen and the Northland Brief Advice Clinic at the Christian Assembly Church for Outstanding Pro Bono Service Project; and to Tom Weeks Executive Director of OSLSA and the Legal Aid Society of Columbus received the Foundation President’s Award.

Columbus Bar President Mark Petrucci presented the CBA’s Outstanding Community Service Award to John Waddy Jr.

A stipend of $3,500 was presented to Ryan Semerad, OSU Moritz College of Law rising 2L from the Marsha Schermer Fund of the Columbus Bar Foundation. Mr. Semerad will be working at the Capital Habeas Unit in the Federal Public Defender’s Office for the Southern District of Ohio.

he annual stipend is awarded to the Public Interest Law Foundation (PILF) to support law students who are serving in public interest internships.

At the Foundation’s Annual meeting the following Foundation Fellows were elected to three-year terms as trustees: Kathleen Trafford and Karen Winters; re-elected trustees were Michael Gire and Robert Weiler. The New Foundation Officers for 2014-15 will be Stephen Buchenroth President; Judge Carrie Glaeden, Vice President; Thomas Hill, Secretary/Treasurer. Robert Meyer will continue to serve on the Board as Immediate Past President.

The additional trustees will be James Arnold, Belinda Barnes, Michael Carpenter, John Chester, Jr., James Davidson, Sharon Davies, Ronald Linville, David Meyer, Robert Palmer, Chad Readler, Judge Guy Reece, Heather Robinson and Gregory Travalio. Bar President-elect Keith Schneider will appoint an additional three trustees to complete the board. Also serving the Foundation will be James Balthaser, Counsel; Jill Snitcher McQuain, CBA Executive Director; Marion Smithberger, CBF Executive Director.

Retiring from the CBF Board were Stanley Ross and Jay Yano.

Pictured: Columbus Bar Foundation Annual Meeting and Awards Luncheon from left Ellen Queen, Colonel Duncan Aukland, Robert Meyer Jr., Maria Bruno, Ryan Semerad, Sherrille Akin, Tom Weeks, Barry Kiser, Stephen Buchenroth and Mark Petrucci (not pictured John Waddy Jr.)