Annual Pro Bono Reception Scheduled for October 23 at the Columbus Bar


The Legal Aid Society of Columbus will honor its 2014 Pro Bono Award recipients at the LASC/CBA/CBF Pro Bono Reception on Thursday, October 23, 5pm at the Columbus Bar. Chief Justice Maureen O’Connor will be the keynote speaker at this event, which occurs annually and strives to recognize and encourage pro bono participation with Central Ohio attorneys. Chief Justice O’Connor is the 10th chief justice and the first woman in Ohio history to lead the Ohio judicial branch.

Four individuals and one law firm will be recognized for their work to ensure access to justice for indigent civil litigants in Central Ohio. Sally Bloomfield of Bricker & Eckler will receive award for “Outstanding Pro Bono Service” for her pro bono leadership and participation in the LASC-sponsored case referral programs and clinics. Dean Reinhard will receive the “In the Trenches” Pro Bono Award for his weekly service at the LASC brief advice clinic at the VA Ambulatory Care Center. Kristy Postal will receive the “New Attorney” Pro Bono Service Award for her work with the LASC Public Benefits Team.

Teresa Scharf of Ulmer & Berne will receive the new Pro Bono Service Award honoring paralegals, law students, or other non-attorneys who have contributed significantly to LASC pro bono programs. Teresa is receiving this recognition for her coordination of three LASC-sponsored clinics, including the PACO Wills clinics and programs at the Broad Street United Methodist Church and YWCA Family Center.

Porter Wright will receive the “Outstanding Pro Bono Service by a Law Firm” award for its work with the Volunteer Resource Center and Broad Street United Methodist Church clinic.

The October reception is part of an annual national pro bono celebration. Each year, the American Bar Association leads a national celebration to recognize the efforts of pro bono attorneys and volunteers.


To RSVP for the event, contact Dianna Howie at (614) 737-0184 or, or Marion Smithberger at (614) 340-2070.